top of page
Writer's pictureMikyla Bagley

Pretty in Pink, Wicked in Spurs: How your Rodeo Queen Outfits Represent Who you are


A horse and a handful of mane were the only two things that mattered to a ten-year old cowgirl in central Utah.


As the daughter of a third generation rancher, she grew up chasing, branding and tending to cattle. Their deep bellows and strong perseverance becomes as much a part of the girl as a part of them


Her heart was in tending to them cow and new born calf alike and even though they could unveil her temper like nothing else, they also revealed a deep love and a desire to protect a way of life.


Chasing cows and charging fearlessly up mountain trails on my dun mare was as much a part of who I was as my pink trim hat and boots.


Growing up on a ranch may not have been all that defined me, but it definitely had a hand in shaping me.


My stubborn resolve is the undeniable result of years of working not until I was merely tired but until a job was done right.


My patience a hard won virtue earned by watching plants and animals grow as well as plenty of time spent leaning that slower is really faster when cattle are involved.


Not to mention a burning desire to work hard not because someone made me but because I can recognize the bounty of rewards that a little struggle now will translate to later on.


It is my background in agriculture that introduced me to the one thing on this earth that I hope to never see a single day without: horses. It is my lifestyle and love of horses that introduced me to rodeo and consequently, rodeo queening.


I will forever jump at the chance to share my history and hope that the attributes and strength of character learned in my youth shines through in my actions, but in a pageant time is not necessarily on your side when it comes to sharing your true colors.


Luckily, it can be easy to showcase just what makes you tick by leading your audience and judges down a path of discussion.


The best way to do this? Conversation pieces.


As silly as it sounds, your clothing can be a huge asset to showcasing who you are and leading your judges to ask you the right questions to allow you to show them who you really are.

 

Make it Meaningful

A conversation piece is not necessarily a brightly colored feather boa. It should be subtle, but a significantly eye-catching aspect of your outfit.


Jewelry, patterns, images or even distinct colors and cut of your outfit can be the best way to engage your audience in a deeper discussion about your personal qualities.


For instance, roping has been a big part of my life and has taught me that work is far better than talent as the basketball legends say and so many of my custom outfits showcase a lariat style trim or even images depicting ropers.

 

Make it Genuine

Just because you wear a hot pink outfit with swirls on it doesn't necessarily mean you should say you are the life of the party when complimented on your style choices.


Now if this is truth then your bright colors and whimsical patterns are a perfect way to introduce your judges to your spunk, but if you are not don't try to come up with a personal tie to every outfit and especially don't try to be something you are not.


Your clothing has the potential to showcase the real you, not fabricate a new you.


I've purchased outfits from many other rodeo queens throughout the years and although I do find myself showcased in some, others are merely a means of looking professional and the part and I will not rely on these to prompt conversation.

 

Make it Count

Not every judge is going to ask you about a conversation piece nor will they lead you to conversation by complimenting your clothing choices, but on the chance that they do, make sure to make it count.


When designing your custom-made items think about something personal and how your clothing could visually represent that aspect of you life.


But don't stop at simply donning the piece, think about how you will present that integral part of you if the chance for conversation does arise and be sure to draw the connection between you and that attribute plainly.


For instance, I have a custom made vest by Bridle to Bridal designs that showcase my personal cattle brand and my family's.


While I think that these pieces are beautiful they also prompt conversation that I use to showcase my deep connection the the western lifestyle and the many character traits that that way of life instilled in me.

 

Clothing CAN Talk

Understanding who you are and what makes you tick is the first step to becoming a better rodeo queen and showcasing why you deserve to hold a title.


Once you have figured out this all important step, find creative ways to showcase it through the outfits you wear. One of the best parts of being a rodeo queen is the variety and flash of the outfits so don't be afraid to wear your own personality proudly.



Comentarios


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page