top of page
Writer's pictureMikyla Bagley

Thanks to the Rodeo Queen Moms and Dads

Updated: Apr 20, 2021


A three minute horsemanship pattern, a one minute modeling segment and a five second buzz run are often the only interactions that judges and audience members have with a rodeo queen or contestant.


But these displays are just the tip of the iceberg for what a rodeo queen is and what she does.


Spectators and judges fail to see the hours of work and preparation that goes into a single rodeo queen pageant and appearance. What they also fail to see is the efforts and countless hours put in by the rodeo queen's support system.


Behind the sparkly shirts, big curls and shining horses is the army who have and are making it all happen. For me, there is not a doubt in my mind that my rodeo queen career would never have happened nor ran so smoothly without the help of my family.

 

To My Rodeo Queen Mom

Hairstylist, makeup artist, wardrobe designer, coach, crisis-averter and poperatsy are just a few of the hats that my mother will wear during a single rodeo or pageant.


Growing up my mother was an avid dancer and cheerleader. She enjoyed riding horses but they were not her passion like they are mine.


So when she discovered that her only daughter would rather ranch than dance, play basketball than learn a cheer and ride a horse in muddy boots than spin around in a glittery leotard, it would have been easy for her to be disappointed.


But she wasn't.


Instead my mother embraced my tom-boy interests and helped me in every way she could. As my interest in rodeo and arena competitions grew, she is the one that pushed me toward the realm of rodeo queening.


That first pageant she braided my hair, helped me wash and saddle my horse and was my very first and biggest fan (which has yet to change).


We knew very little when I began, but my mother recognized a stubborn desire take over and she knew long before I did where my rodeo queen career would be going.


So she learned and grew in rodeo queening right along side me. She drove me to clinics, she watched youtube videos and she discovered eBay and hair hacks.


Our journey was marked with a trail of sequins, hairspray and horse hair. All the while my mother never missed a pageant, rodeo or appearance.


She learned how to pack a trailer and van till it was bursting, shape and clean a hat over a pot of boiling water and would wake up at 5 am to do her make up so she could wake me at 6 am to do mine.


Words will always fall short when describing my mother's contributions to my rodeo queen career. Her sacrifices and silent contribution allowed me to shine, but she deserves a spotlight all her own.

 

To My Rodeo Queen Dad

"Never forget who taught you to saddle your horse" an old quote reads. I can't say when or where but years ago it was my dad who planted a love of horses, cows and western lifestyle that has influenced and shaped my life in so many ways.


Needless to say, sparkles and crowns were not a scene my dad was very familiar with. He grew up on the same ranch my family runs today and tractors and cows have always been his area of expertise.


I'm not sure if he or my mother was the the first to set me on the back of a horse but he is the one that taught me to drive a tractor, chase a cow and hook up a trailer.


Life was not always easy on a farm but I am confident that this is what gave me my stubborn attitude that kept me trying and trying again to earn an illusive rodeo queen title. It is my dad and our lifestyle that assured me that with hard work and perseverance there was no obstacle that could stand in my way.


My dad was the calm in the storm during pageants and appearances. His level head and quiet confidence always assured me during these times of stress.


He would sit through hot parades, rodeos and county fair activities. He didn't know how to curl my hair but he would polish my horses feet, fill my truck with gas and always make sure we had drinks, snacks and a good dinner on the road.


I know it was hard for him to find time away from his day job and the ranch, but he would be there for rodeos and appearances all the same.


I doubt he ever expected to know so much about Miss Rodeo America, hair extensions or modeling turns, but he took everything in stride and I knew by the way he would hug me after each and every pageant that he wouldn't have it any other way.

 

Always Thank Your Circle

Whether its your parents, siblings, coaches, friends or all of the above, I can guarantee that your support system is the all important motor driving and supporting your rodeo queen ambitions.


You may not realize how much or what they do but never miss a chance to thank them. This support system wants the very best for you and you owe it to them to be the best version of yourself.




Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page